Announcing the launch of the AIGA Design Educators’ new journal “Dialectic”

New Journal:

Dialectic, a scholarly journal of thought leadership, education and practice in the discipline of visual communication design.

The entirety of the contents of Volume 1, Issue 01 (V1, I1) of Dialectic, the new, fully open access scholarly journal administrated by the AIGA Design Educators’ Community, can be viewed in full at:

A printed version of Dialectic is also available for $19.99 on Amazon at:

Each of the pieces that has been published in Dialectic V1, I1—their titles and author’s names appear below—may be read or viewed in full online by navigating to the URL listed above and then clicking on the “CONTENTS” box in the upper right corner of Dialectic’s home page. Additionally, each of these pieces may be freely downloaded in .pdf form by anyone in the world who has a viable internet connection and electricity.

The Table of Contents for Dialectic’s inaugural issue is located at:*?rgn=full+text

The content of Dialectic is organized in three sections: “Front Matter,” “The Feature Well,” and “Back Matter.”

The Front Matter section contains the following:

It’s time to stir the pot… An Introductory Letter from Dialectic’s Managing Editor and its Producer by Michael R. Gibson and Keith M. Owens;rgn=main

Journaling through the Back Door by Stephen McCarthy–journaling-through-the-back-door?rgn=main;view=fulltext

A New North American Design Research Organization by John Zimmerman, Carlos Teixeira, Erik Stolterman and Jodi Forlizzi–new-north-american-design-research-organization?rgn=main;view=fulltext

The Feature Well section contains the following:

The Concept of the Design Discipline by Paul A. Rodgers and Craig Bremner–concept-of-the-design-discipline?rgn=main;view=fulltext

First Issues, First Words: Vision in the Making by Jessica Barness–first-issues-first-words-vision-in-the-making?rgn=main;view=fulltext

Tip of the Icon: Examining Socially Symbolic Indexical Signage by Terry Dobson and Saeri Cho Dobson–tip-of-the-icon-examining-socially-symbolic-indexical?rgn=main;view=fulltext

On Web Brutalism and Contemporary Web Design by Aaron Ganci and Bruno Ribeiro–on-web-brutalism-and-contemporary-web-design?rgn=main;view=fulltext

A Visual Essay: My Life as a Fake by Jenny Grigg–visual-essay-my-life-as-a-fake?rgn=main;view=fulltext

A Survey Paper: Doctoral Education in (Graphic) Design by Dori Griffin–survey-paper-doctoral-education-in-graphic-design?rgn=main;view=fulltext

A Position Paper: Defining Design Facilitation: Exploring and Advocating for New Strategic Leadership Roles for Designers and What These Mean for the Future of Design Education by Pamela Napier and Terri Wada–position-paper-defining-design-facilitation-exploring?rgn=main;view=fulltext

The Back Matter section contains the following book reviews:

Developing Citizen Designers by Elizabeth Resnick; reviewed by Ann McDonald–book-review-developing-citizen-designers?rgn=main;view=fulltext

Leap Dialogues by Mariana Amatullo, Bryan Boyer, Liz Danzico and Andrew Shea; reviewed by Annabel Pretty–book-review-leap-dialogues-career-pathways-in-design-for?rgn=main;view=fulltext

Are We There Yet? Insights on How to Lead by Design by Sam Bucolo; reviewed by Heather Corcoran–book-review-are-we-there-yet-insights-on-how-to-lead?rgn=main;view=fulltext

Mapping the Grid of Swiss Graphic Design: A Review of 100 Years of Swiss Graphic Design by Christian Brändle, Karin Gimmi, Barbara Junod, Christina Reble and Bettina Richter; reviewed by Richard Doubleday–book-review-mapping-the-grid-of-swiss-graphic-design?rgn=main;view=fulltext

Dialectic: a scholarly journal of thought leadership, education and practice in the discipline of visual communication design published by the AIGA DEC (Design Educators Community) and Michigan Publishing