More about Department of Media Research

Apply to the Aalto Doctoral Programme at the Department of Media 

Admission to the Aalto Doctoral Programme in Arts, Design and Architecture is organized annually in March, for studies starting in September. The next admission round is in March 2019.  See more here.


Research Faculty at the Aalto University School of Arts, Design and Architecture Department of Media 

Follow the links to Aalto People profiles.

Head of Research, Professor, Systems of Representation research group:
Lily Díaz-Kommonen

Professor of Photography Research:
Harri Laakso

Professor of Visual Communication Design:
Masood Masoodian

Associate Professor of New Media Design and Learning:
Teemu Leinonen

Assistant Professor, Computer Games:
Perttu Hämäläinen

Associate Professor:
Andres Lucero

University Lecturer:
Hanna Weselius

Head of the Department, Professor:
Philip Dean

Vice Dean for Research:
Ossi Naukkarinen



Links for more information about research and study programmes at the Department of Media: 



Flickr: Media Lab Helsinki


Where are we located?

Otaniementie 14
Espoo, Finland

  • Faculty and researchers
  • Department of Media administrative functions

Otakaari 1, A-wing
Espoo, Finland

  • Professor’s offices
  • Department of Media Reference Library, quiet study space 24/7 (room A203)

Otakaari 7
Espoo, Finland

  • Aalto Studios

Other/varied locations

  • ARTS Infra (working spaces, studios, equipments, materials)