Local organizing committee:

Prof. Ahti Salo, Aalto University (Conference chair)

Dr.Tech. (Eng) Ahti Salo ( is Professor of Systems Analysis at the Aalto University School of Science, with research interests in decision analysis, risk assessment, innovation management, and efficiency analysis. He has received several awards from the Decision Analysis Society of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences. He is the most recent recipient of the 2019 MCDM Edgeworth-Pareto Award, the highest distinction of the International Society for Multiple Criteria Decision Making. He has been the President of the Finnish Operations Research Society for two biennial terms.

Prof. Sakari Kuikka, University of Helsinki

PhD Sakari Kuikka works as a full professor in fisheries biology, in the University of Helsinki. He is specialized to Bayesian decision analysis and probabilistic interdisciplinary modelling of socio-biological systems. In addition to fisheries science, an important part of his research is focused on oil spill risk analysis.  He is the head of Fisheries and Environmental Management Group (FEM group).

Dr. Jan-Erik Holmberg, Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority

DSc (Tech) Jan-Erik Holmberg is Principal Advisor at Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority in Finland, STUK ( He has over 30 years of experience of Risk and Reliability Analyses, especially in the Nuclear Safety field. He is also lecturing these topics at Aalto University and Lappeenranta-Lahti University of Technology. He has more than 70 scientific and technical papers in leading technical journals and conferences and 20 reviewed articles in peer reviewed journals. He received the title of docent at Aalto University of School of Science in the field of Systems Analysis in 2016.

Dr. Marja Ylönen, Technical Research Centre of Finland, VTT

Marja Ylönen is Doctor of Social Sciences and working currently as Senior Scientist at the Technical Research Centre of Finland, (VTT) with safety critical organizations. Her research interests include sociotechnical safety assessments, risks, resilience, and integrated management of safety and security. Ylönen is immediate past president of the Nordic Chapter of the Society for Risk Analysis Europe (2017-2019) and the current board member of the SRA Europe and the Nordic Chapter of SRA Europe

Mary-Ann Alfthan, Aalto University (Event producer)

Mary-Ann Alfthan (M.B.A. Hanken Svenska Handelshögskolan) works as a communication and event specialist at Aalto School of Science. Since 2011 she has organized over 15 international conferences at the different schools of Aalto University utilizing her skills in marketing and event management. Her ambition is bringing added value to the user-experience and producing “events with a dash of tabasco”. Outside work Mary-Ann is a passionate cross-country skier and enjoys exploring new skiing and hiking destinations as well as cultures and people.